You are here

The Tasmanian Wilderness

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area is one of the most beautiful true wilderness areas in the world.

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area covers approximately 1,584,000 hectares and represents about one-fifth of the island state of Tasmania.

It protects vast tracts of high quality wilderness and is formally recognised through World Heritage listing as being a national treasure.

The region provides pristine habitats for a diverse range of plants and animals that are found nowhere else in the world, such as the Huon pine which can live for up to 3000 years.

The pine is a true relic of the dinosaur age, estimated to have survived for 135 million years.

At some wilderness and caves sites, indigenous art and artefacts can be found, some of which date back to the last Ice Age.

The island state is also home to significant marine reserves where the underwater ecosystems are also protected for future generations to enjoy.

Tasmania’s iconic and popular locations include:

  • Cradle Mountain in Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park,
  • Wineglass Bay in Freycinet National Park
  • Franklin River in the Gordon Franklin Wild Rivers National Park,
  • as well as the historic Port Arthur colonial site.

Tasmania is a special place, with more than a million tourists visiting every year to take in its natural beauty via bushwalks, extended hikes, wild water rafting, lake fishing, boating, kayaking, abseiling, caving, horseriding and mountain biking.

With so many outdoor activities on offer in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area - and extremely remote areas - it’s a great comfort to have the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service on standby to assist in an emergency.

Share This

Website designed and developed by Digital Ink Logo